Slow-cooker 24-Hour Bone Broth

 

Whenever I make a roast chicken for my family – nearly every Sunday, I always use the carcass to make a bone broth which can later be used as a stock for my soups, or as a relaxing, nutritious drink.

Why 24hour bone broth? From my experience, cooking the chicken carcass for 24 hours with lemon juice or apple-cider vinegar helps to break down the bones to extract further nutrients to benefit your body and gut health.

I used to make my bone broth by boiling it in a saucepan, however a much easier, no-fuss method is to simply throw everything into the slow cooker. This way I can leave the slow cooker on high for about an hour and a half, or two hours until the water has started boiling, then just turn the cooker down  to low and leave it simmering for the next 24 hours, stirring occasionally. This saves me worrying about the water boiling too vigorously, or leaving the oven on over night.

The ingredients I use when making the broth are:

  • The chicken carcass
  • 2-3 carrots
  • 2 sticks of celery (halved to fit in the cooker)
  • 1 onion halved but with the skin left on (it gives the broth a nice sheen)
  • 1 lemon (the acid helps to break down the bones and extract further nutrients – an alternative is some apple-cider vinegar),
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Several whole black peppercorns.
  • Enough water to cover everything

 

Leave a Reply

